Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Year

2012 was a curious year indeed

Discussions on the year in anime and top anime lists are a very popular thing, they pop up all over the place and almost everyone gives them out.  I have been a little hesitant as to whether there needs to be one more out there from me.  However to make it a little more fun I’m going to expand beyond just the simple top anime of the year and talk about my year as well.  I’ll also be giving out some awards, talking about a few of my favorite moments and ranking my favorite characters from this year.

On my first year of blogging

[Coalgirls]_Macross_Frontier_25_(1920x1080_Blu-ray_FLAC)_[E0C5B56D].mkv_snapshot_25.12_[2011.12.05_23.05.08]

Before I get into the anime year in review I’m going to talk about my first year of blogging in 2012.  Blogging for the first time was an interesting experience, I’ve been thinking about it since about 2004 but never had enough motivation until now.  I didn’t know blogging would be such a time consuming thing.  It’s mostly due to my poor ability to get thoughts out correctly without thinking it over which has hindered at least 10-20 more posts from being written.  Overall it’s been something fun and while I don’t plan to be doing it all that much in 2013 I’ll try to get something written occasionally.

The motivation I spoke of was that I really used this blog as an outlet for my frustration and to be able to say things I felt were not out there on anywhere else on the web.  Of course a lot of this was around Ranka since the Macross Frontier community seems to be filled with bias and the inability (or desire) to properly analyze information.  I suppose I can understand since the facts would probably ruin their enjoyment but I really don’t think it’s that bad. You can see the bias though because fans will find the dumbest reasons to continue to support what they want.

While my blog is way too small to have hopes of spreading the facts far and wide I at least hope I was able to give some food for thought to a few of you out there.  I also wished that I could’ve made this more a general Macross fan blog rather than mostly Ranka but I can only write about what I am passionate about.  My blog likely won’t be about Ranka as much in the coming year as outside of a few figures, FB7 movie and perhaps the 30th ps3 game there won’t be much to blog about for me.

Top Anime Characters in 2012

Moving on to some rankings we have my favorite anime characters from 2012.  While there were some really memorable characters from this year, none made it on to my very top tier of characters list that current sits at nine total.  Still I think this was a great year for me as a character lover and everyone on this list were a lot of fun to watch.  I hope 2013 brings as many great characters as 2012 did.  I should mention that as with everything else here this is limited to what I’ve watched this year and my own preferences and biases, enjoy!

10. Eru Chitanda (Hyouka) – Cute and curious make a lethally moe combination.

9. Nao Midorikawa (Smile Precure) – A reliable older sister in a family that doesn’t know when to stop having children.  Her scaredy cat side created some of the best moments of 2012 for me.

8. Mikono Suzushiro (Aquarion Evol) – She had a setup very similar to Ranka’s and while she never really achieved nearly as much from it she got a great ending and it was a fun ride.

7. Andy W Hole (Aquarion Evol) – His hole digging passion and relationship with Mix made for some great innuendo, one of the funniest characters in 2012.

6. Rikka  Takanashi (Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!) – She was just very cute at first but they really added some interest and depth to her character in the later half of this series.

5. Shiori “Takamina” Arisawa (AKB0048)

[EveTaku] AKB0048 - 12 (1280x720 x264-Hi10P AAC)[3BC583BF].mkv_snapshot_13.11_[2012.07.17_00.14.19]Captain of AKB0048, I loved her story in the first season.  It was something worthy of an already established idol than other certain idols in Kawamori created shows.  Her deadly bow wielding was icing on the cake for me.

4. Akiho Senomiya (Robotics;Notes)

[WhyNot]_Robotics;Notes_-_08_[A7A99128].mkv_snapshot_06.16_[2012.12.01_17.27.08]She feels like a mini-Kamina sometimes, it’s great.  The energy she brings is unparalleled in 2012 and it’s a blast to watch.

3. Mutta Nanba (Space Brothers)

[Commie]_Space_Brothers_-_31_[9AD03D7D].mkv_snapshot_03.27_[2013.01.02_15.57.16]A character I can completely relate to (except becoming an astronaut part), he had the underdog story of 2012.

2. Sazanka Bianca (Aquarion Evol)

double kira~The most under-appreciated character of 2012.  Okay so the fact she may or may not be Ranka in disguise might have something to do with it.  Regardless she was a joy to watch even if she had too few lines for what she deserved.

1. “Watashi” (Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita)

a sincere look if I ever saw one

The character with no name and is at best referred to as “Ms Sweets” or “I” (Watashi) she is the master of wit and cunning.  Also held the record for most awesome facial expressions in 2012.

Random Awards for 2012

Before I get into some awards for 2012 I’d like to talk a little about some of my favorite moments.  Aquarion Evol had a few, there was the climax in the last episode which was highly enjoyable to watch and lead to me realizing a few things about Kawamori that I’ve talked about on my blog since then. The gattai scene with Sazanka was amazing,  I had been looking forward to it all series and it did not disappoint with her double Kira Ranka reference or her BL fantasy come to life.

AKB0048 had a few fun scenes with the micsabers and itashi mechas, great for the fan of fun, idols and mechas. I mentioned already Nao’s fear of bugs was great in an episode of Smile Precure.  I also highly enjoyed the ending of Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai even more so than Hyouka which was very close to a top moment until it turned out to be a troll end.  Now on to some random awards for fun, there is no theme here just randomness.

Anime that needed more singing: Symphogear (would’ve liked Yoko Kanno doing some Macross F style music in it as well)

Most rage inducing moment: Sword Arts Online end of episode 22 with Suguha’s unrequited love (thankfully they resolved Suguha’s problems by the end though as a proper show should).

Anime that most needs to play a game of baseball already: Little Busters (seriously when is this going to happen)

Most overrated anime:  Sword Arts Online (because someone had to be but I’ll grant that the novel is likely great even though I haven’t read it)

Most underrated anime: Aquarion Evol

[gg]_Aquarion_EVOL_-_26_[71A8D710].mkv_snapshot_20.20_[2012.06.25_21.30.48](It may not win awards but for what it’s worth it was far more fun than most anime I’ve seen in the last few years and that is what is most important)

Most curious character: Chitanda

I'm curious!(She is also the winner of the best pony tail and best eyes.  Runner up was the Nasa’s Curiosity rover)

Best green haired girl: Takamina

Minami Takahasi(because someone has to be the best)

Best Squirrel: Couvert Eschenbach Pastillage

SQUIRREL! (this one is for the dogs out there)

Most moe tank: Panzer IV Ausf.

kawaii!(mai tank waifu)

Best anime for floatation devices: Horizon

boing(they would never drown)

Best catchphrase: Maru!

maru~ (almost as good as Ranka’s Kira)

Most moe historical reenactment: Oda Nobuna no Yabou

learning history is fun (history has never been so cute)

Cutest bush: Akiho

kawaii (perverted jokes inbound)

Best Ranka: Ranka Lee

052

(That one from Naruto never stood a chance)

Best harem: Sena

Sena(I’d put the anime name instead but it’s really only Sena here)

My favorite anime from 2012

Overall 2012 was a pretty good year for anime.  While I didn’t think there were any exceptional series there were many I’d put in my top 50.  In fact there were probably more series I wish to own from this year than the last two or three years combined.  On the movie side the K-On! movie was easily my pick for movie of the year.  It was probably the best movie I’ve seen in recent memory.

Before I get to my list one note first, I did not include anything that is only half way over from the fall season.  If I did Robotics;Notes, From a New World and maybe even Magi would have been on this list.

10. Girls und Panzer – The tank battles were actually extremely entertaining, you could tell the creator was a tank nut.  Characters had some decent development even if they did start adding a ton of them towards the end and I couldn’t keep track of them all.

9. Binbougami – Enjoyable comedy although it felt way too short.  For a comedy I did feel like it could’ve developed the characters even more and made it better.  But still I liked its humor and it worked well overall.

8 Eureka Seven: AO – This could never fill the shoes of Eureka Seven but it did a pretty good job for what it’s worth.  The ending was rather bittersweet and for once I was fine with such an ending.

7 Seitokai no Ichizon: lv. 2 – Since this was web only for now I’m sure not many have seen it yet but it has been an excellent comedy.  The wit in this show can only be matched by the next entry in my list.

6 Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita – It has Watashi what more do you need?  I loved the randomness of this show and while it wasn’t something ground breaking in setup it was one of the most different animes of the year.

5. AKB0048

kira~If you don’t take this show too seriously you will love it.  It is a little niche with the idols, mechas and parodies but for me this was right up my alley.  I think Kawamori creates his best works when he’s not being too serious.

4. Lagrange

needed more of thisWhile I will probably most remember it for the amazing Megumi Nakajima music the story was very enjoyable.  I want there to be more even if the story is completely finished.  Give us a movie or a new story that expands this universe.  I also can’t get enough of the yuri undertones and those chairs!

3. Space Brothers

[Commie]_Space_Brothers_-_31_[9AD03D7D].mkv_snapshot_01.42_[2013.01.02_15.55.00]While the pacing has not been the greatest this has been one of my favorite slice of life shows in recent memory.  Watching along on Mutta’s journey to be an astronaut has been one of my highlights of 2012.

2. Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!

[URW]_Chuunibyou_demo_Koi_ga_Shitai!_-_04_[720p][D41E2856].mkv_snapshot_13.53_[2012.10.24_22.53.41]This show has most everything I could want from it, humor, character development, moe and a wonderful conclusion.  Definitely a victory for anyone who wants to prove moe can be something good too.

1. Aquarion Evol

[gg]_Aquarion_EVOL_-_26_[71A8D710].mkv_snapshot_22.52_[2012.06.25_21.37.25]I don’t think I have to say much here I’ve already said it all on my blog before.  The only show I was motivated enough to episodic blog even if it was for only part of it this was without a doubt my favorite of 2012.  Even if I am on an island with this one it is one fun island to be on.

