Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I love owning anime and even more so my favorite shows.  There is something so much more satisfying about watching your favorite anime on your own copy of a DVD or BD.  Sure my interest has gone down a lot since I’ve become interested in figure collecting but it’s still something I love to own.  So I am making a list of the anime shows that are in the most need of licensing.

I’m not claiming these are the greatest anime shows still not licensed just my own wish list.  I have a few I’d like to mention that were on my list until recently: Aquarion Evol, Lagrange and Tenchi Muyo OVA’s.  Aquarion Evol and Lagrange were both licensed (somewhat) recently and I assume will get released on DVD/BD in the near future (hopefully anyways).  Tenchi Muyo was very hard to find until it was re-released and is due out next month.  Now on with my list.

10. Yami to Boushi to Hon no Tabibito

My very odd choice of the list.  I would be surprised if many even know of this anime and I am sure even fewer like it.  While from an unbiased angle the show is very average to below average it’s my sentimental choice.  I was still rather new to anime when I first saw it and I loved the story telling style as well it’s yuri theme.  It also has character design that is still among my favorite.  This all is a rare combo I haven’t seen anywhere else in anime.  I’m sure it’ll never get licensed being 9 years old but if it ever does I will definitely be happy.

9. Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei

This show actually was/is licensed but as far as I know it’s sitting in limbo forever.  One of my favorite comedies and a patented Shaft being Shaft anime.  Lack of Zetsubou Sensei has me in despair!

8. Minami-ke

Another top-tier comedy and I’m surprised this one hasn’t been licensed yet (as far as I know).  It seems like a good solid title to be licensed.  Would definitely love to add this to my collection.

7. Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita (Humanity has declined)

A recent and under-appreciated anime and like the previous two on my list another comedy.  This one is a bit different from the previous two in its style being far more subtle and dry which I love.  The main character is just pure win in how she deals with the insanity that is the world she lives in and may be the only main character in anime without a name.

6. Working’!! (released as Wagnaria in the US)

Yet another slice-of-life comedy but I own season one and would love to have season two as well.  Sure the jokes get a little repetitive in season two as it keeps going off the same failings each character possesses but it’s still good fun.

5. Akb0048

Like Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita this is also under-appreciated and new from 2012.  It’s one of two on my list with new content still being created with a new season due out in January 2013.  This anime really depends on the user, if you take the show seriously you’ll hate it but if you like fun anime you’ll love it.  It really is stupidly silly but it’s meant to be as such.  There’s a bonus if you love idols as well.  I hope to see this one get licensed and released soon.

4. Cardcaptor Sakura

Sakura has already been licensed and may in fact still be currently licensed however the dvd’s are all but extinct and insanely expensive.  I currently own the first 35 episodes and would love to complete the last 35 to the greatest magical girl show ever.

3. Space Brothers

This one is currently airing and I consider to be one of the best shows of 2012.  Really high quality sci-fi space slice-of-life about a guy named Mutta trying to become an astronaut and follow in the footsteps of his younger brother who is already one.

2. Idolmaster

I admit I’ve been influenced by twitter as this show seems to have an extremely loyal and enthusiastic following to it.  Add on that lately my increased interest in idols and that I’ve got to know the characters better thanks to watching streams of Idolmaster 2 and talking to fellow fans.  Not an amazing anime but a fun one still and I would really like to watch it again with my own copy.

1. Macross Frontier

This is probably no surprise unless you know me well and how much conflict this show brings me.  We all should know by now why I want it licensed but at the same time I really don’t want any more crazy fans of this show popping up or more discussions that make me pull my hair out and any shippers period.  I want my own licensed copy but outside of that I’d rather keep it on the down low but I can’t have my cake and eat it too so it remains a conflicted number one.  With all the legal issues surrounding the franchise this one likely will not be getting a license any time soon anyways but I can still put it on my list.

