Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

These are my thoughts on all the anime shows that ended during this past season regardless when they started that I finished viewing.  As well, there are a couple I listed in the regrets section that I wish I had watched.

The Winners

Nisemonogatari – This one made a late come from behind thanks to epic tooth-brushing and Platinum Discoing.  I think my main problem with Nise and Bakemonogatari is just the lack of characters whom I like, none are bad but none really stand out to me like in most anime I watch.

Danshi Koukousei no Nichijou – When this anime was funny WOW was it funny.  I think I probably laughed more in this than I did in Nichijou.  Still not on the level of Azumanga but there really isn’t much that is even close.

trololololol

Rinne no Lagrange – I don’t think Lagrange lived up to its potential but I still enjoyed it.  I felt it could have had a more grandiose feel to it considering it’s plot.  I will be looking forward to season two with hopefully more Megumi Nakajima singing and perhaps getting a role this time.

The Losers

Senki Zesshou Symphogear – Most disappointing show of the season by far.  The first episode started out so great and it just went downhill after it.  The final episode was just a mess of a plot full of nonsense.  I really did love the concept of the show with the singing while fighting but the singing turned out to be a gimmick and hardly developed upon and the music was rather generic to my tastes.  You would think Satelight would know a thing or two about this theme by now after Macross F.

Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle – I honestly only watched for Megumi Nakajima and that much made it worth it but the rest of the show was just silly.  There was no real point to the puzzles in the end and I think it was really just about yaoi undertones between Rook and Kaito.  Sadly there is another season and thus I will keep watching until Megumi Nakajima is no longer on the show.

good endZero no Tsukaima F – This season really felt like it was beating a dead horse.  I’m not even going to get into the Jet in the final episode but that just had me face palming.  At least it amused me with going along with my analogy to Macross F with Ranka being Louise, Alto being Saito and Henrietta being Sheryl.  No more Seista, one of my favorite maids in anime, though is sad.

The Regrets

Ano Natsu de Matteru – I’ve heard nothing but good things about this one so far.  I really didn’t pick it up due to not wanting another love triangle with a girl crying at the end show.  I suppose I’m a little better now but it’s too late to watch it now for me, maybe one day.

Mouretsu Pirates – I was probably a little too harsh on this one when I dropped it.  Thought I really just was trying to find a show to drop to free up more time for me.  Although I don’t know whats happening in it exactly, I’ve seen many favorable things said about it so I won’t be opposed to picking it up again.

Guilty Crown – This is my one regret of an anime I wish I hadn’t watched.  I really should have listen to that inner voice saying “abort!” at around episode three.  What a train wreak of a plot.

The Rest

Last Exile: Ginyoku no Fam – I was liking where this was going but the ending was so anti-climatic that it really became neither good nor bad to me in the end.  I think the problem with the show is when you have a main character who doesn’t use violence in a show where war is being waged around her it’s just hard to make it work.  I felt like Fam was just a fairly useless lead whom they really had to reach with to give her something to justify her role.  Her past was also left hanging which had me wonder why they would bring it up and not develop upon it.  The rest of the cast, however was decent, and of course I can’t go without mentioning the underused Megumi Nakajima character being awesome.

Shakugan no Shana III final – This was a loser for most of the run, I never liked the whole war thing, it felt weird.  However, the ending was very nice so I bumped it up to neutral.  Overall it’s been far too long since I first saw this show and my interest in it was all but gone when this started.  Particularly when I was confused with what was going on due to the issue of continuing from the manga plot rather than how the last season ended.

