Tags

The other day I was looking through the rooftop scene in Sayonara no Tsubasa and I happened to notice something.  Take a look at the following screen cap.

giant arrow?

Well I don’t know about you but I find this picture rather interesting.  I know it could be purely coincidental but this is what I see:

  1. There is a giant arrow on the ground pointing directly at Ranka with all of them facing that direction.
  2. Not only is there an arrow but there is a giant triangle too with Alto in the middle and Sheryl outside of it looking inward in a sort of “don’t leave me” pose.
  3. During this shot Leon is saying “What a beautiful triangle” which not exactly odd here but to say it during this shot does make it worth noting in my mind at least.
  4. This is the only scene in this entire movie that is almost the same as the original scene from the Macross F TV series.

I do think it is possible that this is an Easter egg of sorts about how the love triangle was to end the TV series, it’s not the first or probably last thing I’ve noticed that implies it in the movies.  It’s also possible this is just what Kawamori (creator of the Macross series) really wanted, after all I am not as sure as others are about him having the final say about who Alto picked.  Of course it could be just more trolling by Kawamori.  It does kind of feel like there is something trying to be said in this scene since this just seems to much to be coincidental.  I admit though this is most likely nothing but despite what all the Sheryl shippers (or Macross fans who need their “traditions”) out there try to push down everyone’s throat I don’t see the harm in thinking in possibilities such as this.

What do you think?  Am I crazy or is there a chance this has any meaning?

